Potentials 120x60
Lookupuk.com - England (Adoption Related) Board
Message #46027

Board Name: England (Adoption Related)
elizabeth harris west yorkshire May 14, 2003
I am trying to locate my birth mother. I have no name but i know she was probably from the bradford, ilkley area. I was born on 23 March 1971, 5 weeks prematurely and weighed 5lbs 1oz. My mother was 20 years old and had a secondary modern education and worked as a posting clerk for a mail order firm. Both her parents were living and she had an older married sister who also had a new baby. Her father (my grandfather) worked in the textile trade. She was 5ft7, of fairly slim build and had light brown hair and blue eyes. Her interests were swimming, sports and rifle shooting. My father was a 23 year old man who she met on holiday at the seaside where he was helping out in his father's public house. She only knew him for a week and he denied paternity. My mother had another boyfriend at the time who she hoped to marry eventually but he did not feel he could accept me. I was put with foster parents straight away from leaving hospital and adopted probably around June 1971. I was adopted through the Family Welfare Committee, Bradford Diocesan Council for Social Responsibility. My adopted name is Elizabeth and my adoptive parents are called Margaret and Geoffrey Driver. I was born in St Lukes Hospital, Bradford. If anyone can help at all I would really appreciate it. Thank you.
Reply to this message
Previous Message Next Message Boards Menu Search Boards

The Genealogy Register